Compared · checked 13 September 2026
Home inventory apps you buy once: Mac, iPhone and iPad compared
Of the home inventory apps we checked, two are sold once: BluePlum Home Inventory, for the Mac, and Roomkeep, for iPhone, iPad and Mac. Under My Roof is a subscription, and its maker no longer sells Home Inventory, the Mac app it replaced after seventeen years. Sortly, built for business stock, is a subscription too, and the NAIC's Home Inventory app is free for iPhone and iPad. Roomkeep Pro is $29.99 once, one purchase covers iPhone, iPad and Mac, and it prints a PDF report you can hand to an insurer.
"Sold once" here means one payment that stays bought: a paid app, or a free download with a single unlock inside, which is how Roomkeep Pro is sold.
How they compare
Read from each maker's own site or Apple's App Store listing on . Roomkeep is ours. The table scrolls sideways.
| App | Runs on | Price, and how it is charged | PDF report | Where your inventory is kept |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roomkeepours | iPhone, iPad and Mac. | $29.99 once, for Roomkeep Pro — one purchase covers iPhone, iPad and Mac. Free for one property, one room and thirty items. | Yes — A4 and US Letter, with photos and receipts attached. | On your devices and, with sync on, in your own iCloud. "Data Not Collected" on its App Store label. |
| BluePlum Home InventoryThe Blue Plum Software Inc | Mac. A free companion app for iPhone and iPad, Home Inventory Easy Entry, takes the photos away from the Mac. | $24.99 — once, on the Mac App Store; "not a subscription", in its maker's words. Also sold direct from its maker's site. | Yes — reports can be saved as PDF, printed or emailed. | On the Mac, with backups to iCloud Drive if you set them up.Source: Apple's Mac App Store listing and its maker's page. |
| Under My RoofBinary Formations, LLC | iPhone, iPad and Mac. | $34.99 — a year, or $4.99 a month: a subscription, with a one-week free trial. Free to download with a 10-item limit. | Not stated — it lists reports, but neither its site nor its listing says PDF. | On your devices and, with sync on, in your own iCloud. "Data Not Collected" on its App Store label.Source: its maker's site and Apple's App Store listing. |
| Home InventoryBinary Formations, LLC | Mac. | No figure — no longer sold. Its maker replaced it with Under My Roof, the subscription above; earlier buyers can still re-download it. | Yes — reports could be saved as PDF. | In a file on the Mac.Source: its maker's product page and FAQ. |
| SortlySortly Inc. | iPhone and iPad, and a web app. No Mac app in Apple's catalogue. Built for business inventory. | No figure — a free plan for up to 100 items, then monthly or yearly subscriptions. Its App Store listing and its own pricing page list different plans, so we print neither. | Not stated — not mentioned on its reporting page or its App Store listing. | In a Sortly account, synced across devices and users. "Data Linked to You" on its App Store label.Source: its own pricing page and Apple's App Store listing. |
| NAIC Home InventoryNational Association of Insurance Commissioners | iPhone and iPad. It also runs on Apple silicon Macs as the iPad app, which Apple marks "Not verified for macOS". | Free — no in-app purchases listed. From the NAIC, the standard-setting organisation governed by US state insurance regulators. | Not stated — it exports your inventory; the listing does not say in what format. | "Data Not Collected" on its App Store label; the listing does not say where the inventory is kept.Source: Apple's App Store listing (the NAIC's own page refused the request). |
"No figure" and "Not stated" mean exactly that: a first-party source did not settle it on the date above, so nothing is filled in from a review site or a guess. Each app's name links to the page its row was read from — prices move, so check it before you buy.
What a claim report needs to contain
There is no universal form: the request depends on the insurer and the policy, and nothing on this page is advice about either. What a useful report holds is the same everywhere — one line per thing, described so a stranger can tell it apart: what it is, make and model, serial number, when you got it and what you paid, with a photograph, a receipt or a bank statement line behind it. The field-by-field version is what an adjuster actually asks for.
That is why the table has a PDF column: the record has to leave the app as a document somebody else can read. Roomkeep's report puts totals by room and category first, item tables with photos after them, and the receipts at the back — here is a real one, exported from the app's sample home.
Or on paper, for nothing
If you would rather not use an app at all, the room-by-room checklist prints on US Letter or A4 and needs a pen, not an account.
Roomkeep, in the same terms
$29.99 once for Roomkeep Pro — one purchase covers iPhone, iPad and Mac. A printable PDF report on A4 or US Letter. Your inventory stays on your devices and, if you turn on sync, in your own iCloud; the App Store label says Data Not Collected. Free for one property, one room and thirty items, with the report as a first-page preview.